Welcome to: The German Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Internetseite der Gesellschaft für Mikrozirkulation und Vaskuläre Biologie (GfMVB)

Regular Membership

Regular mebership: 50 euro per year

Registration form

Student membership

Student membership: 20 euro per year

Registration form

IVBM 2024
Conference Registration

Registration is open

IVBM 2024 Conference

The IVBM2024 Vascular Biology meeting in Amsterdam will bring together investigators from all fields of vascular biology for the exchange of new concepts and discussions of outstanding questions in the field.

Presentations of the latest discoveries will be provided by internationally recognized scientists and emerging young stars.

Registration >> Click here

Membership gfmvb

Our membership is drawn largely from the medical sciences including physiology, pathology, pharmacology, biophysics, developmental biology, genetics, computational & systems biology, cardiology and internal medicine, as well as veterinary sciences.

Learn more

Program joint meeting 

Hermann Rein award

Hermann Reins is dedicated to promote established investigators
Hermann Rein (1898–1953) was one of the most renowned German physiologists from 1933 to 1953 particularly interested in the body’s responses to changing environmental conditions. During this period, he was nominated 12 times for the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine. Rein was trained as a medical doctor and combined his knowledge of human physiology in health and disease with an interest in physics and chemistry to design innovative measurement techniques. For instance, he invented the ‘Thermostromuhr’, a method to measure blood flow without opening the vessels, originally published in 1928 (Z Biol. 1928;87:394–403).

Learn More

Aletta Jacobs Awards

The Aletta Jacobs award is dedicated to promote female scientists in the field of vascular biology at the start of their career. It was first introduced at the joint Dutch German microcirculation meeting in 2018 in Amsterdam, and continued to promote cross-border vascular research involving junior scientists. Eligible are female PhD students, and female Postdocs within on year upon their thesis defense.


Executive Committee:

The German Society for Microcirculation and Vascular Biology


Prof. Dr. Vet. Med. Rabea Hinkel

Deutsches Primatenzentrum GmbH (DPZ), Leibniz-Institut für Primatenforschung
 Göttingen, Germany


Prof. Dr. Ferdinand le Noble (Karlsruhe)

Developmental Biology Building 30.44 Fritz-Haber-Weg 4 76131 Karlsruhe, Germany.


Prof. Dr. med. Cor de Wit (Lübeck)

Universität zu Lübeck
Institut für Physiologie
Ratzeburger Allee 160
23562 Lübeck

General Secretary

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Henning Morawietz (Dresden)

Medical Theoretical Center (MTZ)
Technische Universität Dresden

Upcoming Conferences & Events 2024

There are no upcoming events.

A few things we’re great at :

 learn more

Upcoming meeting Microcirculation Society Meeting 2020

 learn more

Young investigator award / best oral communication award 2019

 learn more

Herman Rein ward 2019 for Mauro Siragusa from Frankfurt